March 16, 2007

  • Some favorite things....

    I am currently in the process of getting rid of a lot of crap in my apartment. I've come to accept that I have too much stuff, and therefore I must begin the layoffs. In my quest for things to trash, sell, donate, give away, whatever, I have had to take a moment and reevaluate my system for...well...valuing things. So, what are some of my favorite things?

    -My Mac. I love it. Every time someone asks me what I think about it, I have to hold myself back.....I feel like I'm recruiting for a cult or something. I just have so much to praise about it and pretty much nothing to complain. I love it. I want everyone to experience this kind of depth in their computer-user relationships.

    -RollingStone Magazine. No matter what kind of day I'm having, I always get super-stoked when I find this waiting in my mailbox. It is entertaining, informative, and very well written. It makes the perfect bubble bath buddy!

    -Netflix. Like my Mac, I can't stop bragging on Netflix. I started my subscription about two years ago and I have never once considered stopping in when I periodically trim my budget. We don't have cable, and I don't like movie theaters, so Netflix really picks up some slack in our culture regimen. I love that I can get new releases as well as old TV shows. I love that I can keep it for weeks or if it's crap I can send it back the next day. I love that I can lend someone a movie, and as soon as they are done with it they just drop it in the mail for me. I love it!

    -Sirius Radio. This was a Christmas present. Before this January I only listened to CDs and NPR. Now, I actually know music from bands that are still alive/together! And, when I add in...

    -iTunes...I can instantly download pretty much any new song that catches my attention. Last night Mario said "Did you know the Deftones covered Sade's 'No Ordinary Love'?" Well, I did not know that, but less than minute later I had paid my $1.06 and we were listening to that very track. I can get episodes of LOST or El Tigre. (Seriously, check out El Tigre...it is the next best Nickelodeon Cartoon) My only complaint? It's almost too easy...many mornings I wake up and ask "Why did I download this crap?"

    -Caribou Coffee Granola Bars. C'mon....it's a granola bar with pretty good chocolate and COFFEE! How could this be more perfect? (well, it could scrub my tub for me, but that's just getting greedy)

    -My stemware rack. It is plastic and inexpensive (at Bed Bath & Beyond), but it has made a world of a difference. We have very limited cabinet space here, so being able to hang our wine/martini/champagne glasses from the underside of our cabinets is a huge plus.

    -My record player/records. I think part of why I like records is that you can't just shove them your car/purse/computer bag and play them where ever. You have to commit to sitting down and really listen to the music, flip the record after four or five songs, and continue listening to the music. It may be Hollywood cliche, but I think people stopped really listening to music once it became so portable. The iPod may change that, but most people seem to be working/reading/studying when they use their iPod, so they're not totally tapped in to the music. I love to put on a good record and turn off all of the lights, so it's just me and music.

    -My Crocs. They're oh-so-comfortable and easy to slide on. Plus, they don't feel as confining as most other shoes, but they give you more protection than say, flip-flops.

    -You. Yes, I love you. Why? Because you're TIME Magazine's Person of the Year. I mean, who doesn't love you?

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment