March 8, 2007

  • Kat Kicks Ass in the Kitchen

    Two disasters avoided last night:

    1- The dishwasher broke. The latch wouldn't work, so we couldn't run it. I saw that the second latch that "tells" the main latch that the door is closed and that it can lock was not lining up correctly, but I couldn't tell if it was hitting too low or too high. Mario was set to take it apart and I was set to fix it first to avoid dishwasher parts scattered around the house and a permanently disabled washer. I put some Nutella on the secondary latch, closed the door, saw where it was hitting, and then bent it to where it needed to be. Three cheers for Nutella!

    2- We started a small stove fire while cooking dinner. Mario tried to slam a pot lid over the fire, which resulted in scorching the lid and burning his hand. I yelled "Baking soda! Baking soda!" because I was busy holding the pot of frijoles that had been on the burner that was now in flames. Mario acted quickly and poured the baking soda on the flames and presto: fire gone! Three cheers for baking soda and teamwork!

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment