Month: April 2008

  • Waffle-Rama!

    I bought a waffle iron at a garage sale this weekend. The first time I tried to use it was a little crazy because I was unaware of how much potential waffles have for sticking to the grill.* I worked through a couple of batches, and by the end of it had some damn good waffles. Today I decided to get a little creative. I made five different batches of waffles with extra ingredients I had hanging out in my freezer and pantry. I made walnut waffles, cranberry walnut waffles, coffee waffles**, blueberry waffles, and blueberry cinnamon walnut waffles. I also used sunflower oil this time around which I think made a big difference. So, now I have a bunch of yummy waffles to grab on the way to work if Jacob doesn't eat them all. Yay!

    * Despite my mother's amazing cooking abilities, I have absolutely no intuitive kitchen skills. I guess I missed out on that gene, and it sometimes makes me feel like less of a woman.
    ** Coffee waffles = Bad Idea. Don't try it.